OAKLAND – The 2023 Senior Club Team Championship took place yesterday at Waterville Country Club, and players in the field were treated to a beautiful early summer day in this annual team event. At the end of the day, a bunch of familiar names sat atop the leaderboard, as a team from Biddeford-Saco CC won this tournament for the third time in four years. Playing for the southern Maine club were Ron Dery, Scott Dewitt, Mike O’Brien, and Keith Patterson, who teamed up to shoot -7 (133) to win by two strokes over Augusta CC.

Biddeford-Saco CC (left to right): Scott Dewitt, Keith Patterson, Mike O’Brien, Ron Dery

The annual Senior Club Team Championship moved to host site Waterville CC this year after spending nearly a decade at nearby Belgrade Lakes GC. This event, which marks the first men’s senior championship of the season, features teams of four players representing the same golf club, with all players playing their own ball and counting the two best scores on each hole.

The Biddeford-Saco team got off to a sluggish start, making bogey on the first hole to go over par early in the round. They righted the ship soon after, and went on to make a total of 11 team birdies on the day to finish the round with a two-stroke margin of victory. This was their third win in this tournament in the last four years, having taken home the titles in 2020 and 2022.

Finishing in second place was a team from Augusta CC, who were trying to follow up their home course’s win at the Club Team Championship two weeks ago. Half of yesterday’s senior team was also on the winning squad at Belgrade Lakes, with Mike Nowak and Mark Plummer looking to win two titles in two weeks. Joining them on the senior team were Glenn Hanna and Jim Quinn, who helped Augusta to a score of 135 (-5) for second place.

Martindale CC tied with Bangor Municipal GC for third place with a score of 138 (-2). Riverside GC rounded out the top 5 with the only other red number of the day with a 139 (-1).

Maine Golf would like to thank tournament host Waterville CC for their continued support and for providing a wonderful golf course for this exciting championship.

ONLINE: Scoring | Past Champions