2022 Maine Golf Scholars

< RETURN TO Scholarship

August 12, 2022

CUMBERLAND, ME – Maine Golf is pleased to announce the recipients from the class of 2022 earning awards from the Maine Golf Scholarship Fund. Since its inception in 1950, the Fund has helped nearly 580 students hailing from all 16 counties across the Pine Tree State to pursue higher education. Maine Golf is now approaching $1.8 million given as scholarships to Maine students with a passion for golf since its modest start.

 “Awarding scholarships has been one of the core missions of Maine Golf for over 70 years,” says Brian Bickford, executive director of Maine Golf.  “There were so many great applicants, and we wish them all continued success as they take their next step in life’s journey.”

Students are selected based on their character, financial need, academic performance, and participation in the game of golf and/or golf industry. For 2022, the Maine Golf Scholarship Fund Committee has selected 15 new students to receive awards of $1,500 per year, renewable for up to four years of undergraduate education. Two additional students will receive a one-time grant of $5,000 from the Frank Langlois Scholarship Fund.

 “On behalf of the Board of Directors, I want to congratulate the 2022 Maine Golf scholarship recipients and the many talented student-athletes who applied in record numbers this year,” says Neil Angis, chair of the Scholarship Fund Committee.

“We’re very proud to support these exceptional young people as they go off to do great things in college and beyond. I also want to sincerely thank our players, member clubs, volunteers, and generous donors for their continued support in making these vital scholarships possible.”

2022 Maine Golf Scholarship Recipients

Jack Bonnefond, of Readfield and Kents Hill School. Bonnefond will attend Florida Gulf Coast University.

Wade Bradford, of Woolwich and the University of Southern Maine. Bradford is the recipient of the New England Senior Golfers’ Association Award and will continue at USM.

Emily Carter, of Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island High School. Carter is the recipient of the Helen Plourd Award will attend Embry Riddle Aeronautical University.

Caitlyn Chabot, of Dexter and Dexter Regional High School. Chabot will attend Husson University.

Austin Chilles, of Rockland and Oceanside High School. Chilles will attend Drew University.

Samuel Farr, of Gorham and Gorham High School. Farr is the recipient of the Albert Noyes, Sr. Award and will attend the University of Southern Maine.

Taylor Gardner, of Hampden and Hampden Academy. Gardner will attend Aracadia University.

Alden Griffiths, of Scarborough and Scarborough High School. As the top academic performer among the new scholars, Griffiths is the recipient of the Dr. Francis Winchenbach Award and an additional $1,000 one-time grant. Griffiths will attend Boston College.

Cameron Hurd, of Manchester and Winthrop High School. Hurd will attend Florida Gulf Coast University.

Mia Luce, of Monmouth and Monmouth Academy. Luce is the recipient of the Kathy Drake Award and will attend Husson University.

Collin Moody, of New Limerick and Houlton High School. Moody will attend New Mexico State University.

Kobe Saunders, of Calais and Calais High School. Saunders will attend the University of Maine Presque Isle.

Finnegan Sharpe, of Durham and Freeport High School. Sharpe is the recipient of the Davis Richardson Award and will attend Saint Anselm College.

Wyatt Smith, of Peru and Dirigo High School. Smith is the recipient of the Rock Labbe Award and will attend Central Maine Community College.

Liam Winship, of Portland and Portland High School. Winship is the recipient of the Andy Lano Award and will attend Merrimack College.

2022 Frank Langlois Scholarship Recipients

In addition to the Maine Golf Scholarship Fund recipients, Maine Golf recognizes the two winners of the Frank Langlois Scholarship. This award gives a one-time grant of $5,000 to one male and one female student who have shown an active interest in golf in Maine. This year’s Frank Langlois Scholarship recipients are:

Ruby Haylock, of Hartford and Leavitt Area High School. Haylock will attend Bates College.

Parker Hilchey, of St. George and Camden Area High School. Hilchey will attend the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown.

We wish all the best to these talented individuals as they continue with their education. For more information on the Maine Golf Scholarship Fund, or to make a donation to the Fund, contact brian@mainegolf.org or use the button below.