Maine Women’s Amateur Champions

Prior to their merger with the MSGA in 2017, two separate women’s associations existed in the state of Maine, both with their own rich histories of golf in the Pine Tree State. The Women’s Maine State Golf Association (WMSGA) was the first in existence, and conducted their state championship for the first time in 1927. The Southern Maine Women’s Golf Association (SMWGA) was founded in the 1970’s and ran its first championship in 1977. In 2012 the two associations decided to hold one state championship, named the Maine Women’s Amateur, to determine one overall state champion, and today the MWA is the marquis event on the women’s championship calendar.

WMSGA Champions (1927 to 2011)

1927Helen Payson
1928Helen Payson
1929Katherine Singer
1930Katherine Singer
1931Helen Payson Corson
1932Martha Brewer
1933Dorothy Richards
1934Dorothy Richards
1935Gladys Blaisdell
1936Emma Bradley
1937Ruth Hutchins
1938Ruth Hutchins
1939Mary Holt
1940Helen Tolan
1941Emma Bradley
1942-45Not Held (WWII)
1946Emma Bradley
1947Mary Holt
1948Constance Hedin
1949Jane Farmer
1950Jane Farmer
1951Mary Sleeper
1952Evelyn Grant Seitzinger
1953Evelyn Grant Brown
1954Connie Malia
1955Arline Gilman
1956Connie MaliaPortland CC
1957Arline GilmanWaterville CC
1958Martha PagePurpoodock Club
1959Martha PageRiverside GC (North)
1960Martha PageKebo Valley GC
1961Martha PageAugusta CC
1962Martha PagePenobscot Valley CC
1963Martha PagePortland CC
1964Pennie PageOakdale CC
1965Pennie PageMartindale CC
1966Pennie PageBrunswick GC
1967Betty MorwayPenobscot Valley CC
1968Cynthia Paquet
1969Margaret WhelpleyBangor Municipal GC
1970Nancy Rowe
1971Martha Page WhiteAugusta CC
1972Pennie PageRiverside GC (North)
1973Martha Page WhitePenobscot Valley CC
1974Martha Page WhitePortland CC
1975Martha Page WhiteMartindale CC
1976Debby GraffmanGorham CC
1977Debby GraffmanBrunswick GC
1978Debby GraffmanWaterville CC
1979Cindy TreadwellPenobscot Valley CC
1980Leah KortizkyAugusta CC
1981Mary OuelletteMartindale CC
1982Mary OuelletteRiverside GC (North)
1983Mary Ouellette
1984Martha Page WhiteRockland GC
1985Mary Ouellette
1986Mary Ouellette
1987Mary Ouellette
1988Holly Anderson
1989Mary Ouellette
1990Julie Green
1991Lisa Jensen
1992Martha Page White
1993Rindy GarnerSpringbrook GC
1994Martha Page WhitePenobscot Valley CC
1995Pennie Page CummingsWaterville CC
1996Abby SpectorBrunswick GC
1997Abby SpectorThe Woodlands Club
1998Abby SpectorRockland GC
1999Abby SpectorMartindale CC
2000Abby SpectorAugusta CC
2001Abby SpectorPenobscot Valley CC
2002Alyssa HayesSugarloaf GC
2003Abby SpectorBoothbay Harbor CC
2004Lori FrostWaterville CC
2005Lori FrostRockland GC
2006Pennie CummingsPurpoodock Club
2007Kristin KannegieserNatanis GC
2008Alexa RancourtBangor Municipal GC
2009Alexa RancourtAugusta CC
2010Kristin KannegieserBath GC
2011Emily BouchardPenobscot Valley CC

SMWGA Champions (1977 to 2011)

1977Cindy Choate
1978Joyce Beecher
1979Cindy Choate
1980Cindy ChoateYork G&TC
1981Donna LyonsMartindale CC
1982 Merri HudsonGorham CC
1983Merri Hudson Purpoodock Club
1984Holly Anderson
1985Cindy Choate
1986Holly Anderson
1987Holly Anderson
1988Cindy Choate
1989Lisa Jensen
1990Lisa Jensen
1991Lisa JensenFalmouth CC
1992Cindy Choate
1993Laurie HyndmanThe Woodlands Club
1994Laurie Hyndman
1995Midge Danaher
1996Laurie HyndmanVal Halla GC
1997Bernice VadnaisGorham CC
1998Laura GagnonBiddeford-Saco CC
1999Mary BrandesFalmouth CC
2000Laurie Hyndman
2001Mary BrandesPurpoodock Club
2002Laura GagnonBrunswick GC
2003Laurie HyndmanThe Woodlands Club
2004Mary BrandesNaples GC
2005Leslie GuentherRiverside GC (North)
2006Mary BrandesBiddeford-Saco CC
2007Laurie HyndmanPortland CC
2008Alexa RancourtBrunswick GC
2009Leslie GuentherSanford CC
2010Leslie GuentherOld Marsh CC
2011Leslie GuentherThe Woodlands Club

Maine Women’s Amateur Champions (2012 to current)

2012Emily BouchardAugusta CC
2013Emily BouchardBrunswick GC
2014Leslie GuentherWaterville CC
2015Staci CreechBiddeford-Saco CC
2016Staci CreechPenobscot Valley CC
2017Staci CreechMartindale CC
2018Bailey PlourdeRockland GC
2019Jordan LaplumeWebhannet GC
2020Ruby HaylockAugusta CC
2021Bailey PlourdeBangor Municipal GC
2022Ruby HaylockPortland CC
2023Erin HolmesBrunswick GC