The 2022 Maine Women’s Amateur gets going this week at Portland CC, with the state’s top female players descending on the classic Donald Ross course on July 19-21. The field consists of 108 players from around the Pine Tree State playing in a 54-hole stroke play competition.

New for 2022, the field will be cut to the low 45 players and ties after the conclusion of 36 holes. Over the first two rounds, players will compete for the overall championship in addition to prizes awarded in each of four flights based on handicap.

Last year’s championship was played at Bangor Municipal GC and was won by 21-year old Bailey Plourde (Sheepscot Links). Plourde won her second MWA title with rounds of 71-72-76 – 219 (+6), edging runner-up Ruby Haylock (Turner Highlands CC) by six strokes.

Portland CC opened in 1895 and has played host to numerous Maine and regional championship over the years. Portland was one of the founding clubs of the then-MSGA back in 1917 and has been welcoming Maine golfers ever since to compete on its seaside course that offers views of Casco Bay and the Portland skyline.

The tournament will begin on Tuesday, July 19 at 7:30 a.m., with Plourde, Haylock and Jordan Laplume (Dunegrass GC) in the opening group. The three players carry the lowest handicaps of any competitors, and are also the last three women to win the MWA in recent history.

Fun Facts:

  • The field of 108 players is comprised of golfers from 35 different Maine clubs
  • The average age in the field is 55.7-years old. The youngest competitor is 15 and the oldest is 82.
  • The average Handicap Index in the field is 14.4, with the low at +0.8 and the median at 14.8.
  • The Woodlands Club has the most competitors in the field with 11, followed by Biddeford Saco and Val Halla with 10 each.
  • The field is made up of players from the following club, with the number of players from that club in parentheses: Bangor Women’s Golf Club (3); Bath Golf Club; Biddeford-Saco Country Club (10); Bridgton Highlands CC; Brunswick Golf Club(2); Cape Arundel Golf Club (3); Cape Neddick Country Club; Dunegrass Golf Club (2); Dutch Elm Golf Club(3); Falmouth Country Club(2); Fox Ridge Golf Club; Hermon Meadow Golf Club (3); J W Parks Golf Course (2); Martindale Country Club (4); Mingo Springs Golf Course; Natanis Golf Course (3); Nonesuch River Golf Club (3); Old Marsh Country Club (3); Penobscot Valley; Point Sebago Golf Club; Portland Country Club (7); Prouts Neck Country Club; Purpoodock Club (3); Riverside Golf Club (2); Rockland Golf Club (2); Sanford Country Club (2); Sheepscot Links Golf Club (2); South Portland Municipal; Spring Meadows Golf Club (5); Springbrook Golf Course (3); Turner Highlands Country Club (7); Val Halla Golf Course (10); Wawenock Golf Club (2); Webhannet Golf Club; Woodlands Club (11)

Schedule of Events:

Tuesday, July 19:         7:30 a.m. to 1:20 p.m.; all play will begin on hole #1       

Wednesday, July 20:   7:30 a.m. to 1:20 p.m.; all play will begin on hole #1        

Thursday, July 21:     7:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. (approx.); all play will begin on hole #1

In the event of a tie after 54 holes, the winner will be decided immediately by a hole-by-hole playoff.

ONLINE: Tee Times | Scoring