Maine Golf is pleased to be hosting the 103rd Maine Amateur Championship at Webhannet Golf Club on July 12-14, 2022. Webhannet, which sits just a few hundred yards from the Atlantic Ocean in the southern Maine town of Kennebunk, opened for play in 1901. It has hosted numerous Maine Golf championship events over the years, yet this marks the first time the Amateur has been contested there in the club’s long history.

ONLINE: Tee Times | Scoring | Past Champions and Venues

Last year’s Maine Amateur Championship was held at Kebo Valley GC and was won by Topsham’s Caleb Manuel. The 19-year old representing Brunswick GC shot rounds of 68-75-68 en route to a score of 211 (+1) to win his first Maine Amateur title. Manuel beat runner-up Will Kannegieser by one stroke in last year’s event in Bar Harbor that came down to the final hole. He will be joined by Ryan Gay, John Hayes, Ricky Jones, Mark Plummer, and Andrew Slattery as the only former champions in the field in this year’s tournament.

This year saw a record 352 players attempt to qualify for a chance to compete in Maine Golf’s longest running and most prestigious men’s amateur event. Competing at five sites in June across the state, 80 of those 352 players advanced to the championship proper via qualifying, joining 52 players who were already otherwise exempt. The final field of 132 players come from all corners of the state, representing 12 of Maine’s 16 counties.

Webhannet’s 18th green from the clubhouse.

The tournament will begin on Tuesday, July 12, with the field going off of both tees starting at 7:30 a.m. The first group off hole #1 features reigning champions from recent Maine Golf championships to get the tournament started, with Manuel (Amateur) joined by Ron Kelton (Mid-Amateur) and Mike O’Brien (Senior Amateur) in the opening pairing.

The Maine Amateur Championship is a 54-hole stroke play competition. The field for the championship will be cut to the low 40 players plus ties after two rounds, with those players advancing to Thursday’s final round. Any player that makes the cut will be exempt from qualifying for the 2023 Maine Amateur Championship at Samoset Resort GC in Rockport.

Additionally, the top 16 and ties will earn a berth in the 2022 Match Play Invitational, to be played at Falmouth CC on August 1-3.

Fun Facts:

  • The field is comprised of 132 players representing 44 different golf clubs from across the state of Maine.
  • Brunswick GC has the most players in the field with 13, followed by Biddeford-Saco CC (10), Val Halla GC (8), and Portland CC (7). Host club Webhannet GC has 6 players competing, tied with Falmouth CC and Martindale CC.
  • Twelve of Maine’s 16 counties have at least one player in the field.
  • There are two father/son duos in the field: Andy Spaulding and son, Elliot, and Jon Nicholson and son, Kyle. There is one set of brothers competing in the championship: Joe and Mike Walp, who both coincidentally advanced via their respective qualifiers in a sudden-death playoff.
  • The oldest player in the field is 13-time Maine Amateur Championship winner Mark Plummer at 70. He’ll compete the first two days paired with the youngest player in the field at 14, Jack Quinn. The average age for the field is 35.2.
  • There are 30 players in the field with a Handicap Index of 0.0 or better. The average Handicap Index for the field is 1.7.


The field is made up of 132 players from the following 44 golf clubs, with the number of players from that club in parentheses: Augusta (5), Bangor Municipal (1), Barnes Brook (5), Barren View (2), Biddeford-Saco (10), Blue Hill (1), Bridgton Highlands (1), Brunswick (13), Cape Arundel (1), Deep Brook (2), Dunegrass (1), Dutch Elm (2), Falmouth (6), Fox Ridge (4), Goose River (1), Hermon Meadow (1), Hidden Meadows (1), Houlton (1), Kebo Valley (4), Maine Golf Center Freeport (1), Mars Hill (1), Martindale (6), The Meadows (1), Natanis (2), Nonesuch River (1), Norway (1), Penobscot Valley (3), Poland Spring (1), Portland (7), Presque Isle (1), Prouts Neck (2), Purpoodock (5), Riverside (1), Samoset (4), Sanford (1), Spring Meadows (2), Springbrook (1),Val Halla (8), Waterville (4), Wawenock (1), Webhannet (6), Willowdale (2), The Woodlands (4), York (4).


The tournament consists of 132 players competing in 54 holes of stroke play. The field will be cut to the low 40 players and ties after 36 holes. The course will play as a par 71 and will measure around 6,100 yards for the championship.

Schedule of Events: 

Tuesday, July 12         7:30 a.m. to 9:20 a.m. (morning wave); 12:00 p.m. to 1:50 p.m. (afternoon wave); play will begin on holes #1 and #10        

Wednesday, July 13    7:30 a.m. to 9:20 a.m. (morning wave); 12:00 p.m. to 1:50 p.m. (afternoon wave); play will begin on holes #1 and #10        

Thursday, July 14       7:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. (approx.); all play will begin on hole #1

In the event of a tie after 54 holes, the winner will be decided immediately by a hole-by-hole playoff.

ONLINE: Tee Times | Scoring | Past Champions and Venues