KENNEBUNK — The first individual men’s championship of the year gets going this weekend at Webhannet GC. The Mid-Amateur Championship, which is open to Maine resident golfers age 25 and older, returns to the classic Kennebunk golf course on May 31 and June 1 for the first major of the season. There are 40 different clubs represented in this year’s event among the full field of 132 players.

Last year at Point Sebago in terrible weather conditions for both rounds, Ricky Jones prevailed to win his record 7th Mid-Amateur title. He is one of 9 former champions of the Mid-Amateur in the field this year: Ricky Jones (2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2010, 2013, 2023), Joe Alvarez (2006, 2007, 2011), Scott Sirois (2009), Ashley Fifield (2012), Keith Patterson (2014), Peter Wright (2017), John Hayes (2019, 2020), Derek Deveraux (2021), and Ron Kelton (2022). Hayes won this event the last time it was contested at Webhannet in 2019.

In addition to the championship proper, there are also five exemptions available into the 2024 Maine Amateur Championship to the top finishers that aren’t otherwise exempt. This year’s Maine Amateur goes to Purpoodock Club in Cape Elizabeth on July 9-11, where the state’s top players will compete in the 105th playing of Maine Golf’s oldest championship.

Follow along with the action at Webhannet by using the links below.

ONLINE: Tee Times | Scoring | Past Champions